A 6-stepper mini drum kit using Adafruit shields

Hi folks,

I'll try to keep things clear and also reassure you that, despite being a novice, I have researched fairly thoroughly and read around these topics enough to relieve myself of complete bufoon status though obviously everyone's needs are unique, hence the post.

I'm planning to build a circuit that will play a tiny toy drumkit composed of 6 steppers with actuators (pencils!) attached. You can have a look at this guy for a much more advanced version of what I'm trying to achieve. https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1481744082/dadamachines-music-machines-for-everyone?token=bf5ca50a

Essentially I'd like to be able to set each motor running and add a potentiometer into the circuit for each one in order to manually adjust the speed they are beating the little drums at.

I will work at the code later but at the moment I have decided to stack three Adafruit shields (Adafruit Motor/Stepper/Servo Shield for Arduino v2 Kit [v2.3] : ID 1438 : $19.95 : Adafruit Industries, Unique & fun DIY electronics and kits) on top of one another.

Now this kit is tiny. I'm really looking for no more than enough force to beat the drum than you could get if you flick something as hard as you can with your ring finger. My first question is whether someone could estimate how much torque that is or recommend a motor in that sort of region? I have no experience with the measure of torque. I'm guessing as far as they go I'm not looking for a very powerful stepper right? I'd like to use some acceleration too for a realistic thump rather than a dull thud. Can anyone put a measure on how much torque I'm looking for roughly?