A Few questions about what i can do!?

Hi, I'm very new to arduino, I am fluent (what ever that means) in C++ and work Developing inhouse software for the company i work for.
We are required to put in some boom gates for a health/safety issue.
Now as far as the company we are buying the boom gates from is concerned the gates can only be operated eith on the unit itself or with a remote keyfob type set up. This is useless for us.
Would it be possible with an arduino to click a button somewhere in our plant, that communicates with an arduino on our network to open/close the gate? either though the ir stuff in the gate, or directly?
Which would be the better approach here? I'm sure i could code the code part, it's the hardware area im hazy in, although library suggestion/rough tutorial links would be very helpful.

Thanks for your times. :slight_smile:

Definitely possible. Lots of approaches. The basic one would be to have an Arduino emulate the keyfob they give you - and there are many options for how to tell the Arduino to open the gate. I see no technical road-blocks here- this is pretty standard stuff.

You do realize that Arduino development boards are not meant for use in safety critical situations though? You need to make sure that you would not be exposing your company to liability by using them in the role you are planning

It would just be easier to use the keyfob's, We have boom gates that the office controls when visitors call to open it, Other's have a card you swipe through and others use remote keyfob's
I looked at something similar do a search on google for arduino capture RF signals has there is some info on how to do this, I did try to capture our signal but it turned out not to be that easy, So I just orderd a remote fob

The Arduino is for quick prototyping. The libraries are being improved all the time and every new version is better. It should not be used when there is a health risk.