A little confused. Could use some help!

Hello everyone, ive been playing with arduino(and some other different micros) for a little while now. Im still a beginner, but i am learning every day. Ive recently came across a task, and figured the arduino platform would be perfect (and hopefully i can get it onto an attiny soon). What im trying to do is transmit the infrared power code for a very popular cable box, when an input is switched high. It will be controlled by RF once its finished, but for now, and simplicity i will be using a pushbutton. I tried writing the code from the ground up, but realized i was in over my head. I read dozens of different articles about the defferent IR protocols, and the many projects that already use IR and stumbled across this page.

http://www.controllerprojects.com/auto-channel-checker-changelog/

Under the project named SApower1_6_5 i found he had all the IR codes neccesary, and than some. All i need is the one power on/off code. So my question is, what part of that code would be the actual power command thats sent out, and what else from that code is neccesary to support it? There is a lot of stuff in there thats not needed for my project, but i cant manage to sort out what i need and to get it working. Once i have that im pretty sure i can just use the button code. Thanks!

Another good project for sources of codes is the "lirc" or "lircd" project, which is a Linux remote control system. The source code is quite informative.

You can "just" hook up an IR LED to a digital output, and send the right code, like you would flash a regular LED.

But! There are three levels of modulation that are needed.

1. The actual bits of the command you want to send. This is the easy part.
  2. How those bits translate into "high" and "low" ("mark" and "space") in the particular serial binary protocol used by your box.
  3. How to in turn modulate the carrier signal with those marks and spaces.