A question about current

Hello, I'm a noob , so I have a question about current. I have a wall charger for a psp console , which is rated at 5v 2000 mA . So, that 2A (2000mA) rating means that the charger is able to supply 2 amps , or that the charger gives 2 amps all the time to anything that is connected to it?

Thanks

Also, is that 5v voltage regulated? Thanks

Is able to supply... Current can only flow when there is a path for it to flow, and the resistance of the path (coupled with the voltage available) determines the current (ohms law).

A supply will have its own current limit above which it struggles (overheats, blows a fuse, gracefully backs off), and that's the rated current.

Whether the voltage is regulated is harder to know - measuring it with no load is a good test.

Thank you very much for helping me MarkT!

Ah, I have one more question ... (Forgot about it) I read somewhere that we cannot use an atx power supply to charge some batteries , because 11A would "cook" them. Is that true? I'm confused , because you said that current flows when there's a path for it to flow. So , will the batteries allow 11A to flow through them ? Thanks

Charging batteries is forcing current into them. To do this you need a bigger voltage than the batteries.
Batterys are non linear devices and do not follow ohms law.

So while you can over charge the battery you only do so if the voltage is such that you can do it. Putting this power supply with a battery will not necessarally put 11Amps through it.
It looks like that writing was badly worded.

Ok Grumpy_Mike, thanks for your reply!

Well, about the power supply, I tested it with a multimeter (with no load) and the reading was 5.39 v.
So , is the power supply regulated ?
Thanks

Erm, "no very well" - it should be closer to 5.0V if properly regulated - maybe its not strictly DC too (so I'd not recommend using it as logic power supply without further investigation.