A question of POWER. How do I make this project's lamp BIGGER/BRIGHTER?

Hi Forum,

I am new to Arduino and just finished doing this project successfully: http://itp.nyu.edu/physcomp/Tutorials/HighCurrentLoads

Now, I want to use a BIGGER, BRIGHTER LIGHT. The DC adapter that I'm currently using is 12volts/1A and I'm wondering how to figure out what is the brightest light bulb I can light up with that kind of adapter.

Or put another way, let's say I have a 15W/120V light bulb. What kind of power would I need to light that bulb up?

THANK YOU for helping me!

You've already answered your own question. A 15watt 120 volt bulb needs 120 volts and will produce 15 watts (which will be rather dim)

The maximum a 12 volt 1A power unit can supply is 12 watts - so you are limited to 12 watts after which you eventually get a release of smoke and smell.

If you want bright at low voltage go for something like a 12 volt 50watt halogen lamp. This will draw in excess of 4 amps so your power supply needs to be suitably rated. If you want brighter then couple several in parallel, but you then need to look at bigger power supplies.

You can switch this on using a suitable transistor or better still an FET (lower ON resistance), operated via a resistor from an arduino output pin. In fact if you use a PWM output you can even vary its brilliance.

You can get very bright LEDs but these are less tolerant to abuse on the control side (they need constant current control) and so can end up being rather expensive if you don't know what you are doing.

Hi JackRae!

Thanks so much for answering my question. In terms of brightness do you think a 12 volt 50watt halogen lamp would be bright enough to light up a 9 foot by 8 foot room (10 foot high)?

What form does the power supply come in? Most DC adapters I see go up to 2A, so will I need to power the 12volt/50 watt bulb some way other than using a DC adapter?