A sequence of trigger switches

Hi.

Firstly i am very new to arduino, so i very much apologise for the un professional nature.

I am trying to build a touchless control unit, a very basic idea, but with different styles of functions on it.

Firstly i have set up a distance reader to change between lights depending on how close your hand is to it.

I am now looking to set up a sequence of sensors that depending on which order of 2, either from left to right or right to left, they are triggered it will create a different output. I am just looking for some advice on how to set up a series of say 2 or 3 either LDR (not ideal due to them being analogue) or PIR sensors (not ideal because of their field of view being 5m, which also adds another question, does anyone know if i can ristrict this with programming or is this purely a hardware issue?) or an ultrasonic sensor (which i dont know much about). So firstly i am a bit unsure on what sensor to actually use, if anyone has any ideas it would be much appreciated, i need it to sense a hand travelling over it within 100mm, and am really unsure on what to use.

What i want to do is build some programming that can tell in which order these sensors are triggered, either left to right, so say sensor 1 then 2 then 3, or right to left, say sensor 3, then 2, then 1. The programming then registers this... and depending on the order lights an led, say either red for left to right and green for right to left. So its fairly simple in principle but i am very very unsure at the moment on how to go about it and what sensors would be suitable. I have been reading some of these forums and everyone seems really helpful and impressively knowledgable and would be excellent if even a tiny bit of light or guidence to another post if someone has tried the same thign would be much appreciated.

Kind regards

Matt