A Very Basic Question on BootLoaders

Hello again.

I have been a computer trainer and developer for quite a while now and probably this is why I have got myself confused on the concept of BootLoaders. reason being - in computers, a BootLoader for different operating systems is different.

I find that there are Bootloaded ATMEGA 328P available online. Now if someone buys one of these (or even say, I bootload one of those using Arduino UNO), how different will it be for the program written for Nano?

I might sound confusing, so here is an example scenario -

1. I burn a bootloader on ATMEGA 328P using Arduino UNO v3.
  2. I use Arduino Nano to compile and upload a piece of code onto this chip - because Nano has a few more pins (than UNO) that my program uses.
  3. Then I use this programmed chip in my Project(s).

Questions:

1. Will that be all good - I mean, will the program work?
  2. If not, how do you determine what version of BootLoader is installed on those pre-bootloader installed ATMEGA 328Ps.

Thank you people for being around and helping us (beginners and others as well) around.

Stay safe.

in computers, a BootLoader for different operating systems is different.

I don’t see how it’s different. Yeah, the bootloader of ye olde mainframe might have gotten loaded by paper tape or front panel switches, rather than having a special section of non-volatile memory, but the principles are the same.

On the “core” AVR arduinos (Uno, Nano) the bootloader support puts a non-intrustive bootloader at the end of flash memory, and sketches don’t need to be aware that it’s there at all. (theoretically. There are still bootloaders “in the wild” that can interfere with the use of the watchdog timer.) That means that you can upload Uno code to a Nano, or Nano code to an Uno, even if they’re running different bootloaders.