About attachInterrupt - help please

Hello everyone - My first post here…

I’m new to Arduino - but have some (very limited) experience with programming. Here’s my question:

I’m trying to create a controller for something similar to this:
Pin 7 (as an example) is Output and High - but is normally attached to a circuit that is open.
Pin 2 is Output and High, but normally attached to a circuit that is closed.

The objective is that when the circuit for Pin 7 goes closed (from an external switch) →
Then Pin 2 is caused to go Low.
In other words, when the sensor (independent) circuit closes, the actuator (dependent) circuit is opened.

I would have preferred to use an If loop for the sensor circuit, but understand that If requires a comparative value, which I don’t have.

I believe I’ll need to use the attachInterrupt command, but can’t understand the required syntax, nor which circuit will go on which pin (does the sensor go on pin 7, or the actuator?)

Thanks in advance!!! I appreciate any wisdom here!

PlumBob

You can use attachInterrupt() to define what interrupt pin to monitor (0 = pin2; 1 = pin3), what function to call when the interrupt occurs, and what pin state change (RISING, FALLING, or CHANGE) is to trigger the interrupt.

So, you really should consider switching the pins around.

On the other hand, you need to define what else the Arduino is doing. If it isn't doing much, or anything, else, the use of an interrupt is probably not necessary.

I'll share some of the code that's working for me. I have a device that produces short positive 5v pulses at irregular intervals conected to pin 2 (INT0), so I put this into my header file:

#define GMC  0                         /* Pin  2 - INT0 Geiger counter input  */

Then in my setup() function I added:

attachInterrupt(GMC,geiger,RISING); /* Set up GMC interrupts               */