about to give up

Im an electrician and have programed many plc's but i cannot understand this code. Is there another way like ladder logic? All youtube help just shows me how to open examples or just start typing crazy words like boolean.

Is there another way like ladder logic?

No.

All youtube help just shows me how to open examples or just start typing crazy words like boolean.

Quit watching TV. Get a book.

Do you have the IDE installed. Have you at least managed to successfully upload the blink example. If you haven't used C before it can be quite a steep learning curve but not insurmountable.

A better method of learning is to come up with a project of your own and then, bit by bit work through each requirement.

If you've managed pic you have the capacity to learn C.

For topics that I never know where to start, I always get a "For Dummies" book. Ridicule them all you want, but they assume nothing and get you going in the right direction. They then point you on to bigger and better things and resources. Been reading them for 25 years and half my bookshelf is yellow.

Knowing very little about Arduino, I picked up a starter Kit and "Arduino for Dummies", probably about $50 total on amazon. I do have a small background in coding (programming), so picking up C++ after 15 years of not touching it wasn't that hard. This book briefly covers programming, but you can find other good resources on the C++ language out there.

One of my earlier programming courses was an Algorithm planning class. While this was in the 90's, we were using punch cards to program our machines. The teacher made us draw out flowcharts (your ladder logic) to plan our programs. We quickly learned that errors in the actual program were a hell of hard thing to diagnose and fix, so we learned to perfect our flowcharts to weed out logic errors.