Absolute beginner seeking advice on automating unique set of blinds/shutters

Hello there, new friends!
My name is Jonathan and I’m a complete beginner. I have an Arduino Duemillanova I bought years ago and haven’t really played with more than once or twice.

I would like to automate my shutters, but they’re not exactly like most shutters you see. They operate using a lever system, which is very very easy to move (not a lot of strength needed). See photos for how the lever-operated blinds work

I would appreciate any help determining what components I need to buy (which servo? “servo controller”? power supply?) and possibly, if you’re feeling generous or want to participate in a fun project, help designing and coding the thing.

Project specs:

• Servo motor will turn to move the lever every morning and let in natural sunlight
  • (Optionally), it would be cool to put a pulley system in place to allow the servo to also CLOSE the blinds every evening
  • Potentially operated by a timer?
  • If cost effective, it would be nice to be able to program it from a web interface
  • It would be super cool to be able to connect it to IFTTT so that I can, say, email my blinds to close them!

Any guidance as to which components I’ll need would be extremely helpful. I can probably figure out some of the code, but I’d also LOVE help on that, too.

Thank you so much!
JL

I spent years coding for people who would happily buy things and wanted to save money but when confronting with learning and doing would go out and buy more things which makes no sense.

Learn the code basics to save you from spending hours and hours writing reams of 'hard way' code.

Your IDE has Examples built-in. Try ones that you have hardware to work, many need no extra hardware, and skip the others. You will find them in your IDE File menu under Examples. Each one has some explanation on the Arduino site in the Learning menu, Examples, in the green bar you see at the top of this forum page.