Absolute beginner, would this be possible?

So before I start learning, I was wondering if it would be possible to create a very small device (the size of a small coin) that is simply made of a battery, Bluetooth chip and accelerometer. The device can be used in conjunction with a computer (wirelessly) to have a constant reading from the accelerometer.

If so, it would be much appreciated if you could outline the basic steps I would have to take to begin learning how to create something like this.

Thanks!

This reminds me of a Phillips seminar I went to a long time ago.
They told us that they had invented the CD player.
It was the size of a wheelbarrow.
They said that it worked.
The only think they still had to do is to make it smaller.
Maybe you could do the same.
Leo..

This can be done if you have your own engineering laboratory with access to smd production equipment.

You don’t? Then forget it.

Weedpharma

Absolute beginner, would this be possible?

Probably not within your capability for a long time.

How big are the coins in your country? The answer is different if you are in Australia (big coins) or the USA (small coins.)

The accelerometer is tiny - The ADXL345 is 3mm x 5mm x 1.42mm (I just happen to have a vernier and an ADLX345 in my lap.) The Arduino chip to control it is 7mm square or possibly smaller. The bluetooth module is likely bigger. The latest Bluetoon BLE modules are pretty small though.

You are going to have to design your own PCB. If you want really small then you need to find a service that will print thin PCBs. The standard PCBs from OSHPark are pretty thick. A week learning Eagle should be enough for you to get a design out to a fabrication shop.

I'm sure I could get it down to the footprint of an Australian 20c coin, or maybe an American quarter. It would be a lot taller though. It really depends on your battery life requirement. The overall size will be driven by the battery.