AC Dimmer circuit ideas

Hey all - I built a working AC light dimmer (110v/60hz) using some guidance from the following link: http://www.instructables.com/id/Arduino-controlled-light-dimmer-The-circuit/

It works fine, but I’m looking for ways to dramatically improve the design. To summerize how the above works - it incorporates a zero-crossing detector fed into the arduino, and the arduino uses that to output a signal to a triac that switches on/off very quickly in sync with the AC frequency.

I’d like to rely less on the arduino for the timing, and feed the zero-cross signal directly into a 555-timer which is then controlled via PWM on the arduino. That way - I wouldn’t be relying on the arduino to control the output signal timing so if it is performing blocking calls and such (network connections etc), the AC light doesn’t flicker.

I’m a novice when it comes to the circuit side of things. I did find some sketch notes http://i.imgur.com/bHNxw.jpg (found on reddit http://www.reddit.com/r/arduino/comments/1417sp/dimming_ac_lights_with_pwm/)from a guy who did the same kind of thing… looks to me like a sawtooth generator that is fed by a zero-cross signal and PWM from the arduino, but I haven’t had much luck trying to reproduce - or understand - the circuit.

Am I going about this wrong or is this the right direction? 8)

How about this;-
Solid State Relay Voltage Resistance Regulator

Output Voltage : AC 24-380V
Rated Load Current : 40A
Potentiometer Input Resistance : 500K (Potentiometer is Not Included)

Amazon, $15.38 & FREE Shipping (Two-Day)

if <10A, the heat sink could be removed.

500K Potentiometer, Amazon, $7.99 & FREE Shipping (Two-Day)

I wanted to avoid using an SSR due to the bulk, though that would reduce complexity. Looking for a way to externally sync the phase and pulse generation circuit, so the arduino can be free to do other things without affecting output.