Accelerometer and gyro for datalogger, what to buy?

A buddy of mine introduced me to the arduino concept the other day, and I think this sounded like a fun base for a project.

I'm looking to make a datalogger for my motorbike, sort of formula 1 / moto gp style logger that logs the force applied to the dampers(fork and shock) during for example a track run.
So in that case I need a sort of gyro, to get the angle of the bike, and a accelerometer to get the force applied.
I have ordered a ATMEGA2560 from ebay, and need some help in regards to what other components to buy, what will fit/ be compatible etc..

I need a gps to log the speed and distance traveled, accelerometer and gyro to log the suspension data, and a sd card module to store the data.

Could anyone give me any advice on what components to buy, and not?

I like this one: Pololu - MinIMU-9 Gyro, Accelerometer, and Compass (L3G4200D and LSM303DLM Carrier)

I am still learning how to use it.

If you're quantifying the effectiveness of the dampeners then you want to measure the jerk on the motorcycle. By "jerk" I'm not referring to the rider, but rather changes in acceleration ;). Google will provide lots of leads in how to measure jerk.

If you were going to attempt to run this test by simply looking at acceleration you would not get useful data. If you're lazily sitting in a chair feeling the consistent 9.8m/s acceleration due to gravity you don't normally consider this a bumpy ride. If you're flying in an airplane in turbulent weather you're still being accelerated by the pull of gravity, but you describe it as a bumpy ride because you're feeling change in that acceleration.

Food for thought, after riding what Chagrin said, you might need accelerometers for the axles and one for the bike. In this way you can see what forces the axles are seeing verses the frame of the bike therefore, the effect of the dampers.