Accelerometer Help

Hi there, I'm a bit new to the microcontroller world so please bear with me.

I have a Arduino Duemilanove and a MMA7361 accelerometer (http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=9652), and basically I'd just like to get some reading sfrom the accelerometer.

As far as setting it up, I have the power connected to the arduino's 3.3volt supply. Also, I have the AREF pin connected to the 3.3volts as well so I could take advantage of the analogReference. The x,y,z outputs are connected to 1-3 of the analog inputs.

The code is below:

void setup() 
 {
   Serial.begin(9600); 
   analogReference(EXTERNAL);
 }

void loop() 
 {
   int xaxis = analogRead(1);
   int yaxis = analogRead(2);
   int zaxis = analogRead(3);

Serial.print("x-axis");
   Serial.print("\t");   
   Serial.println(xaxis);

Serial.print("y-axis");
   Serial.print("\t");   
   Serial.println(yaxis);

Serial.print("z-axis");
   Serial.print("\t");   
   Serial.println(zaxis);

Serial.println("");   
   delay(1000);
 }

From what I understand I should get 10 bit resolution over the 3.3 volts, or 1024 points of over the 3.3 volts, and the accelerometer says I should get around 2.45volts for 1g. My problem is, I seem to be getting junk data. The numbers are averaging around 80 for all the outputs and don't change when I move the sensor.

To test the arduino, I directly put the 3.3volts to each one of the analog input pins and it read 1024, so I'm under the impression that the arduino and analogReference are working.

I'm sure I may be doing something wrong, but I can't figure it out. I'd love for someone to point it out to me, and I could hit myself on the head. Thanks for any help in advance.

After reading it's datasheet, I am guessing that it is in sleep mode. To operate at normal mode, the datasheet says apply high input to pin seven. So maybe it will work after you do so :) Good luck!

I directly put the 3.3volts to each one of the analog input pins and it read 1024