Accelerometer, please help.

Hello,

I am new to accelerometers and arduino in general. My project: I want to throw the arduino vertically up and at the highest point, right when it starts to fall, i want the arduino to turn on an LED. Which accelerometer should i use and how show i start the programming? I am using an arduino uno. I greatly appreciate your help.

Your idea won't work, because while the accelerometer/Arduino is in the air, the accelerometer will always read as close to zero as matters. This is because the Earth's gravity applies the same acceleration to everything.

The accelerometer measures the difference between the force applied to the accelerometer package, and a "spring/mass" system inside the accelerometer. When flat on a table, the accelerometer will measure 1g because the table is pushing up on the package while gravity is pulling down on the sensing element. In free fall, regardless of the direction of motion, the accelerometer measures zero.

hi jremington

They were able to do it, i just don't know about arduino and accelerometer that well.

"The microcontroller on the mainboard processes the data from the
accelerometer, integrates (sums up) the acceleration during launch and
from this calculates the launch velocity (speed at the moment when the
ball leaves the throwers hands)
• From the launch velocity it’s easy to calculate the rise time to the
highest point in the trajectory.

The ball is already in free fall when it flies up — one can visualize that fact when one knows how accelerometers work:
• There is a little test mass on a spring
• One measures the elongation of that spring
• When you hold the ball in your hand, the spring gets pulled down by
gravity.
• When the ball flies up, the spring retracts and ball, accelerometer and test mass fly happily next to each other.
• There is no difference between going up or down"