Accelerometer problem with servo

Hello,
i’m making a gyroscopic stabiliser for a school project and I’m having a problem.
I’m using an Adafruit ADXL335 accelerometer and a Hitec HS-485HB servo. I started programming and I can perfectly get the values from the accelerometer that I also remapped from 0 to 180.

The problem occurs when I try to give the servo the value the accelerometer gives me, for example when I add servo1.write(degx); with degx being the value in degrees, the values go from 90, 89, 90, 90, … (when everything works fine) to 291 90 246 290 90 256 for example as soon as I add this line telling the servo to take the value.

I really don’t get it why it’s doing that.
Here’s the code:

#include <Servo.h>

int xpin = A1; // X Axis

Servo servo1; // Declares servo 1

int axex; // Raw values X

int degx; // Remapped X values

void setup()
{
servo1.attach(9); // Connects servo 1 to port 9
servo1.write(degx);
Serial.begin(9600); // Start com
}

void loop()
{
axex = analogRead(xpin); // Gives axex its value
degx = map(axex, 269, 408, 0, 180);
//servo1.write(degx); // PROBLEM

Serial.print(degx);
Serial.print("\t");
delay(20);

}

Here are some pictures:

If you guys could help me it would be great :open_mouth:
Thanks,
Alex

Most servos can do a maximum of 180 degrees. Does yours do 360?

Nope, it's 180 degrees

Are you powering the servo from the Arduino 5v pin? That almost always causes crazy problems - and may damage your Arduino. Give the servo a separate power supply and connect the servo GND to the Arduino GND.

...R

Print out your accelerometer reading with xdeg so you can see what's causing the over 200 values. For this setup, did you actually have a plate to place your accelerometer on or are you just tilting your breadboard to simulate tilt?

Yes i'm powering both the accelerometer and the servo with the arduino 5v pin, i'll try to power it externally.