accelstepp performance

Hello.
I’m new to Arduino and C/C++, and last coded in BASIC about 25 years ago :fearful: , so I will probably ask some very stupid questions and make some very stupid mistakes. Here goes…

I am trying to control a single stepper motor (28BYJ-48 via ULN2003 on pins 3-6) using AccelStepper ( to take advantage of it’s acceleration/deceleration feature for better load handling) with six switches (on pins 7-12) and a pot (on A0). The board and motor are powered through the jack with 9v.

Two of the switches must make the motor run to defined positions (cw & ccw) at a speed set by the pot (this is the primary function of the device).
Two of the switches must make the motor run to defined positions (cw & ccw) at a different speed (return to base fast while preserving speed set by pot).
The last two are limit switches intended to deal with accidental overruns, and disable motor pins to save power (batteries).

Here is some code I wrote to test performance at different speeds and acceleration:

#include <AccelStepper.h>
#define HALFSTEP 8

// define motor pins
#define motorPin1  3     // IN1 on ULN2003
#define motorPin2  4     // IN2 on ULN2003
#define motorPin3  5     // IN3 on ULN2003
#define motorPin4  6     // IN4 on ULN2003

// Initialize with pin sequence IN1-IN3-IN2-IN4 for using the AccelStepper with 28BYJ-48
AccelStepper stepper1(HALFSTEP, motorPin1, motorPin3, motorPin2, motorPin4);

void setup() {

// set baud rate
  Serial.begin(9600);

// set motion properties
  stepper1.setMaxSpeed(2000.0);
  stepper1.setAcceleration(1000.0);
  stepper1.setSpeed(2000); //return speed

}//--(end setup )---

void loop() {

stepper1.moveTo (120000);
    stepper1.run();
    if (stepper1.distanceToGo()<(1))
       stepper1.disableOutputs();
  }

This works exactly as expected - smooth acceleration and movement, reliable up to about 2000 steps/second.

I then wrote the following:

#include <AccelStepper.h>
#define HALFSTEP 8

// define motor pins