AccelStepper.h, motors will not move.

Hello, I am very new to Arduino. I am doing a project where I am moving two stepper motors NOT simultaneously (they take turns), where each moves a fixed distance, stops, and moves forward again until a max distance is reached, and then returns to the original position. I want to move at a constant speed, but I need to use Accelstepper library for a non-blocking movement, so that it can check for a limit switch to be pressed during the movement distance.

However, when I upload the script to the arduino, the motor will not move. It sounds like it’s buzzing, but nothing is happening. I’ve tried to change the script around, but the problem persists. And the motors do have enough power to move because another script I have moves the motors fine. Is there anything I’m doing wrong with the code I’ve written (I’ve taken the limit switch code and one motor out for simplicity)? And also, is it feasible to use the built in Stepper.h library instead to check for the switches during movement?

#include <Accelstepper.h>

int steps = 10000;

AccelStepper stepper1(1,3,4);

int X = 0;

int Xmax = steps*5;

void setup() {}

void loop() {
while (X < Xmax)
{
stepper1.move(steps);
stepper1.setSpeed(1000);
while (stepper1.distanceToGo() != 0)
{
stepper1.runSpeedToPosition();
}
delay(2000);
X = X + steps;
}

stepper1.move(-X);
stepper1.setSpeed(1000);
while (stepper1.distanceToGo() != 0)
{
}
X = 0;
}

Have you had one motor moving properly with any other code?

If not try this Simple Stepper Code which does not need any library. Get the motor working with simple code before trying anything more complex.

If you need more help then ...

• post a link to the datasheet for your stepper motor
  • tell us what stepper motor driver you are using
  • tell us what stepper motor power supply you are using (volts and amps).

...R
Stepper Motor Basics