Accurate EMF detection

Hi,

I’m new to this forum. I’m a software engineer and know only a little about electronics. I’ve done some projects with Arduino (and Raspberry Pi). For this project, I want to detect the radiation “spikes” off of a smartphone. The states I want to detect/sense are 1) when the screen is off/idle, and 2) when the screen comes on by the device being swiped. I don’t care about when data goes out, when data comes in or when a call is being made. I read this article: https://macintoshhowto.com/hardware/emf.html and EMF measurements were taken in various states and various distances. Most states are < 1000 mV/m (I’d like to detect these low radiation states). Note, when talking on the phone the EMF is 10,000 mV/m which is considered high in the paper I posted above.

What I did was some research and found “a lot” of EMF detectors using Arduino. The ones where you connect a wire (antenna) to an ADC port, along with some resistance and then light an LED or turn on a buzzer, etc. These work but are not accurate as it seems they pick up not only electric fields but also static electric fields and I can’t get it to pick up the states from my iPhone. Again, I’m more of a software engineer and not an engineer that understands a lot about electric, electronics, and radiation.

This is kind of what I want to duplicate: I used a Fluke Pro3000 tone detector (for finding non-active wires). If I use that and get close to my iPhone when the screen is off, the buzzer gets louder and you get a “distinct pattern (with or without airplane mode off)”. When I swipe the phone the buzzer on the Fluke gets way louder and if I touch an icon or press a number of the phone causes the same behavior (even a louder buzzing sound). Moving away from the iPhone, the buzzing sound gets softer. How does the Fluke do this?