Activating Levers - Motor or Linear Actuator

Hi,

I am just starting out with Arduino and would like to start my very own project.

It would like to create something that would pull down on a lever/door handle and nothing else.

It would be a movement in a straight line.

I have done some research and it seems that what I need is a linear actuator.

Am I on the right track, will a linear actuator have enough strength to be able to push down on a common door handle?

Thank you and any help is greatly appreciated.

A linear actuator or geared motor and lead screw would be my choice. Measure the force that it takes to pull the lever with a fish scale and note the distance required. Those are the 2 most important things to know to choose or build an actuator. And the available supply voltage.

Am I on the right track, will a linear actuator have enough strength to be able to push down on a common door handle?

Yes, they come in different sizes/strengths/speeds.

How much force does the lever need? You can check it with a pull-gauge (or with weights if it works by pulling down). You'll probably want to use about double the required force to allow for "sticking" and so you don't over-stress the motor by running it at it's maximum.

Alternatives to a linear actuator are a a belt & pulley or worm/screw. These are common ways of converting rotational motion to linear motion. You'd have to do some calculations convert torque into linear force.

It would like to create something that would pull down on a lever/door handle and nothing else.

Typically, you'd replace the lock/latch with a [u]solenoid lock[/u] rather than rigging-up something to turn the handle/lever. [u]Here's are some[/u] for an entry doors.

mgsolid2010: