Actuated Display using motorized pots

Preface: I’m quite new to the world of Arduino (and also to electronics), so please don’t berate me too much or assume much background knowledge*.

I’m planning to create an actuated display, where small sections can be raised and lowered, kind of like this. Eventually, I’d like it to be 10 x 10. Right now I’ve gone as far as creating a 2x2, actuating segments using these (sliding) motorized pots (one for each segment).

Equipment for a 2x2 section:

• Arduino Uno (1)
  • sliding motorized pots (4)
  • h-bridges (2)
  • 10 uF caps (2)
  • (jumper wires, breadboard)
  • powering sliders with a 9V battery and the board via USB cable

Function-wise, I’d like to monitor the position of each slider and (obviously) to be able to set their positions. Capacitive touch would also be fun to add.

I have quite a few questions-- I’m not sure if I should include them all in one post, but perhaps some of them are related… so I will this time 'round. Here goes.

I’m not sure how easily this will scale-- how many actuators per Arduino (I realize this depends on the board and number of pins-- maybe a Mega would be best to minimize the total number of boards), how many PWM pins I need per slider etc. I think I only need PWM pins if I want to control the speed of the slider? Maybe I’ll run out of analog input pins first…

I’ve also read of folks using motor drivers which contain h-bridges, rather than just h-bridges. What are the advantages of this?