AD9850 DDS with Hitachi compatable LCD (16x2) and a rotary encoder

Hi,
I am trying to assemble a HF synthesized signal generator with the LCD readout and a rotary encoder with push button switch. I tried to instal the following code in the IDE (ver.1.05) but getting the following 3 error messages. The author of this code says there is no problem with it and many people had in the past successfully used the same. The rotary encoder in stand alone mode with the standard codes (copied from Arduino playground and other places ) works well. So I think the encoder code is already installed in the IDE library. Hence I request experts in this forum to kindly help me in resolving the issue . Thanks in advance for your time. Further I am not a big expert in coding of any sort as I am essentially a hardware guy.

"Step 11.error 'Encoder' does not name a type
Step 40 in function 'void_vector_5()';

• error 'r' was not declared in this scope *
    Step 42 error 'DIR_CW' was not declared in this scope
    code"

The full program is reproduced below.

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
#include <rotary.h>

//Setup some items
#define W_CLK 8   // Pin 8 - connect to AD9850 module word load clock pin (CLK)
#define FQ_UD 9   // Pin 9 - connect to freq update pin (FQ)
#define DATA 10   // Pin 10 - connect to serial data load pin (DATA)
#define RESET 11  // Pin 11 - connect to reset pin (RST) 
#define pulseHigh(pin) {digitalWrite(pin, HIGH); digitalWrite(pin, LOW); }
Rotary r = Rotary(2,3); // sets the pins the rotary encoder uses.  Must be interrupt pins.
LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 13, 7, 6, 5, 4); // I used an odd pin combination because I need pin 2 and 3 for the interrupts.
int_fast32_t rx=7200000; // Starting frequency of VFO
int_fast32_t rx2=1; // variable to hold the updated frequency
int_fast32_t increment = 10; // starting VFO update increment in HZ.
int buttonstate = 0;
String hertz = "10 Hz";
int  hertzPosition = 5;