Adafruit 10-DOF - Calibration and Filtering

I thought I might just upload some code since I took along time to figure this one out. I acquired a 10-DOF IMU, which has a L3GD20H, LSM303 and BMP180, from Adafruit which does not have support anymore and I desperately wanted to make a compass. So I found this post:

With this I managed to properly calibrate my IMU. However, I wasn’t happy with the heading indicator. So I saw that Paul Stoffregen has made a Mahony and Madgwick filter. What I realized though is that it is not compatible with all IMU’s, so with some tweaks I managed to make it compatible with the 10-DOF.

So in case anyone is interested, here it is.

Please note: I am just a beginner and I just want to help anyone that has the same headache as I had trying to figure this one out. Also, if there is anyway to make it even better, let me know ;).

10DOF_Filter.ino (2.7 KB)

Lines like the following invert the handedness of the measurements, which if not correct, leads to incorrect or nonsensical orientation angles. Since the LSM303DLHC raw data are right handed to begin with, why do you do this?

If you have a good reason, you should explain why in the program comments.

ax = -1*ax_cal/100.00;

it is not compatible with all IMU's

Not true. You simply have to present IMU data that are properly scaled and in a suitable, correctly aligned right handed coordinate system. Both the Madgwick and Mahony filters normalize the magnetometer and accelerometer data, so the overall scale factors (that is, the units) in those cases are irrelevant. The gyro rate data MUST be in radians/second.

To make a tilt compensated compass, Pololu's vector code is much simpler, faster and more accurate than either the Madgwick or Mahony filter.

Hi jremington, thanks for looking over the code!

Not true. You simply have to present IMU data that are properly scaled and in a suitable, correctly aligned right handed coordinate system.