adafruit fx audio mini sound board 2mb

hello guys.i just want to know if an adafruit fx audio mini sound board without a amp or headphone jack on board. Can provide direct input to a powered (mono) speaker, or do I also require an amplifier?.. because i don’t if i still need to buy an amplifier. and what wattage of speaker can that it handles. im sorry im really new with this kind of stuff. thank you in advance for answering my question.

here is the link to the product. Adafruit Audio FX Mini Sound Board - WAV/OGG Trigger - 2MB Flash : ID 2342 : $14.95 : Adafruit Industries, Unique & fun DIY electronics and kits

Can provide direct input to a powered (mono) speaker, or do I also require an amplifier?..

Powered [u]computer speakers[/u] and powered studio monitors have a amplifier built-in. A [u]raw speaker/driver[/u] needs an amplifier. [u]Stereo/Hi-Fi speakers[/u] also need an amplifier.

If you want to build an amplifier, there are lots of "power amplifier" chips, or you can buy an assembled amplifier PC Booard. If you buy a board, you'll need to add a power supply, a volume control, and you'll probably want a case.

Or you can buy a [u]small amplifier[/u] (that one doesn't come with the wall-wart power supply) or a bigger amplifier.

and what wattage of speaker can that it handles.

That gets complicated. A "small project" can get-by with less than 1 Watt. A TV usually puts-out less than 10W. A "standard factory" car stereo might put-out about 10-20W. A home stereo/home theater system will probably have more than 100W, but most of the time you won't be listening that loud.

Of course there is almost always a volume control, and just because you have a 10W amplifier, that doesn't mean you have to listen at 10W full power.