Adalogger sketch crashes on Win10 but not on Win7.

The W7 laptop is old and very flakey so I need another machine to develop in case the W7 dies...

The W7 has IDE 1.8.9 and I've tried both 1.8.9 and 1.8.19 on the W10.

I've checked that the W10 has all the library items installed on W7.

The W10 can upload W7's exported compiled binary to the Adalogger and it runs just fine... but when I try to upload the W10's compiled code it crashes and won't continue to loop.

I recently bought a Dell Latitude W7 laptop, hoping to duplicate the old W7's ability, but it has the same compiled code crashes as W10 and that also infects the exported compiled binary code which crashes as well..

I've tried using 6 different Adaloggers and have the same problems with each one...

Any help in solving this will be hugely appreciated.

I'm still suspicious that the different results you are getting are due to having different versions of the dependencies on each machine. It is much less likely that the Windows version is relevant.

The verbose compilation output will show the versions that are in use

  1. Select File > Preferences from the Arduino IDE menus.
  2. Check the box next to "Show verbose output during: ☐ compilation".
  3. Click the OK button.
  4. Select Sketch > Verify/Compile from the Arduino IDE menus.
  5. Wait for the compilation to finish.

Now you will need to examine the content of the black output panel at the bottom of the Arduino IDE window. There is a lot of text there, but fortunately the relevant information is all the way at the top and all the way at the bottom, so you can ignore the wall of text in the middle.

At the top, you will see something like this:

Using board 'uno' from platform in folder: C:\Users\asdf\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\arduino\hardware\avr\1.8.4

(I compiled for an Uno to produce this sample output)

From the folder name at the end of that path, I can see I am using version 1.8.4 of the boards platform for the Uno

and at the bottom you will see something like this:

Using library Ethernet at version 2.0.0 in folder: E:\arduino\ide\arduino-1.8.19\libraries\Ethernet 
Using library Servo at version 1.1.8 in folder: E:\arduino\ide\arduino-1.8.19\libraries\Servo 
Using library SPI at version 1.0 in folder: C:\Users\asdf\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\arduino\hardware\avr\1.8.4\libraries\SPI 

Here I can see I am using Ethernet@2.0.0, Servo@1.1.8, and SPI@1.0

Produce this output on the good computer and on the bad computer and compare the versions.

If you see a difference in the part at the top, you can change the version installed using the Arduino IDE Boards Manager (Tools > Board > Boards Manager).

If you see a difference in the libraries at the bottom, you can change the version installed using the Arduino IDE Library Manager (Sketch > Include Library > Manage Libraries).
Some libraries are not in Library Manager. If so, we can help you to get the right version installed.

Define: "crash". "Sketch crashes" means...? This implies that you can compile and upload the sketch to the Arduino and it doesn't run? Are you getting an error message or does the IDE simply stop?