Adapting working code to existing moving setup setup. Any advice/tips for me?

Hi,
New member, medium coding level. I don’t have a not a lot of experience on C but i have been hobbying electronics for at least 10 years.
I need to adapt this code to control big steppers with existing common anode d860mt drivers and PSUs.
In what I see as steps to be taken, I need to:

Essential

-code to use pul/dir instead of PWM
also adapt the code to the parameters of existing motors, include some way to use the pot or replace with an encoder/transducer.

Needed badly
-a way to include a library and to find a good one. Good ramp up is huge part of immersion.

If someone could look at the code to see if it’s doable. I’m keen to learn, but I would hate to waste a good part on something that cannot be done. I’ve written code lately but this is a whole new level for me.

Thank you,

SMC3.ino (59.6 KB)

What does "this code" do?

What is the project?

Adapting code to do something very different often takes more time than creating a new program from scratch.

...R

Your first problem is not the code, it's the hardware change. Big (powerful) stepper motors require adequate driver modules. Are you sure that the stepper motors can do what you want?

Have a look at the AccelStepper library.

Hi,
Welcome to the forum.

Please read the post at the start of any forum , entitled "How to use this Forum".
OR
http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php/topic,148850.0.html.
Then look down to item #7 about how to post your code.
It will be formatted in a scrolling window that makes it easier to read.

Can you please post a copy of your circuit, in CAD or a picture of a hand drawn circuit in jpg, png?

Thanks.. Tom... :slight_smile:

Thank you for the answers

What does "this code" do?

What is the project?

Adapting code to do something very different often takes more time than creating a new program from scratch.

...R