ADC Programming Registers

My goal is to create a personal ADC converter function through Arduino. My goal is to use a potentiometer and have a continuously stream of analog read to print in the serial port. I'm fairly new with register programming so my question is can i just add the ADC function in main or do i have to make a separate .h file?

My project consist of using ADC and keep getting a input value from A0 continuously.

My goal is to register program ADC rather than using the built in adc function.
// DATA Acquistion

void ACD_init(){
ADMUX = (1<<REFS0);
ADCSRA |= (1 << ADEN) | (1 << ADSC)| (1 << ADATE);
ADCSRB = 0x00;
}

uint16_t adc_read(uint8_t ch)
{
// select the corresponding channel 0~7
// ANDing with ’7′ will always keep the value
// of ‘ch’ between 0 and 7
//ch &= 0b00000111; // AND operation with 7
// ADMUX = (ADMUX & 0xF8)|ch; // clears the bottom 3 bits before ORing

// start single convertion
// write ’1′ to ADSC
ADCSRA |= (1<<ADSC);

// wait for conversion to complete
// ADSC becomes ’0′ again
// till then, run loop continuously
while(ADCSRA & (1<<ADSC));
ADC = (ADCL |(ADCH << 8));

return (ADC);
}

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);

}

void loop() {

int sensorValue = adc_read(A0);
// print out the value you read:
Serial.println(sensorValue);
delay(1); // delay in between reads for stability

}

I tried with a ponentialmeter and built in anologread and it works. But with mines, it just outputs 1023 the whole time. I have ponentialmeter hooked up to ground 5v and A0. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you

My goal is to use a potentiometer and have a continuously stream of analog read to print in the serial port.

This does not sound like a well thought out goal. The ADC returns a value based on how long it takes the (constant or varying) input to charge a capacitor. That is a discrete event, not a continuity. You then want to sent the value to the serial port. That is a discrete event, not a continuity.