add value to a potentiometer

I am new to arduino, what the program has to do is turn on the led when the value is> = 25, I already have that, now what I try to do is that if I press the up switch it should increase to 26, and If I press the down switch, 1 must be subtracted leaving 25, and so on, UP = increases 1 value and Down = decreases 1, my problem is that the changes in the potentiometer are not reflected when I make the declaration, I am using proteus to simulate it.

int switchUp=1;
int switchUpDown=5;
int pot = A4; //pin for the potentiometer
int led = 0; // pin for the LED
int val = 0; // variable to store the value coming from the sensor
int up;
int down;

void setup() {
  pinMode(led, OUTPUT); 
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode (switchUp,INPUT);
  pinMode (switchUpDown,INPUT);
}

void loop() {
    up=digitalRead(switchUp);
    down=digitalRead(switchUpDown);
    val = analogRead(pot); // read the value from the sensor

if (up==HIGH)
   {
    val+10;
   }

if (val>=250){
     digitalWrite(led, HIGH);  // turn the led on
  }

else  {
 digitalWrite(led, LOW);   // turn the led off
  }      

}

helpp meee

@jav54

Have you by any chance got 2 accounts on this forum as the diagram seems very familiar, as does the subject of the query, and you are using the same IP address as another user

if (up==HIGH)

Don't do something (increment/decrement) while the switch IS HIGH, do it when it BECOMES HIGH.

Look at the state change demo/example in the IDE

val+10; Does nothing at all.
Tryval += 10;

And if your diagram is correct then HIGH means that the switch is not pressed. And pin 0 is not a good one to connect the LED to. Avoid pins 0, 1 which are used by program load and Serial.

Steve

what I want to do is that when I press the UP switch I increase the percentage on the potentiometer

So, have you fixed the code?

jav54:
what I want to do is that when I press the UP switch I increase the percentage on the potentiometer