Adding an LCD to a small plastic toy

Hi All!

I'm fairly new to Arduino, I was wondering someone can help me with a project.

I'm trying to take a small toy and add an LCD. Is there a way to do this without using a breadboard and having my Arduino plugged into my computer all the time? What other components would I need?

Thank you!

Get the prototype working and tested using a breadboard then move the project to "perf board" like this 32PCS Double Sided PCB Proto Perf Board Through Plated 2x8 3x7 4x6 5x7 cm | eBay or even consider having a PCB made to your design

The project can be powered by batteries to avoid the need to connect it to a PC

@UKHeliBob Thank you for the information, could you share a YouTube video with someone building something like what you say? im a visual learner and it would be very helpful.

Have a nice day!

Which part of the process do you want help with ?

@UKHeliBob I appreciate anytime you spend helping.

So far, I'm going to find the proper size PCB Perf Board to place inside the toy. now on that board, what other kind of components do I need, I know a resistor, transistor, something else? I was hoping to power it using the battery that already powers the plastic toy if possible.

You need no more components when using the perf board than you do when you use a breadboard. The perf board takes the place of the breadboard and soldering makes the construction more permanent

In what way does the Arduino interact with the toy and how is it powered ?

Which Arduino are you aiming to use ?

@UKHeliBob So basically, I have a toy that takes 4 doubles AA batteries and the toy has one button. When I press the button it makes a noise and a light goes off in the front of the toy. I have an Arduino UNO, and all I want to do is have the LCD display text when the button is pressed.

Are the batteries rechargeable ?