Adding time to an existing project

http://m.instructables.com/id/Arduino-CPURAM-usage-monitor-LCD/

I assemnbled the build on that page and have it functioning properly. But I would like to add time to what is beibg shown. Have it pull time over the usb cable. I want it to every five seconds switch between the display of cpu/ram usage to showing what time it is.

The problem is that i am still new to programming this little machine and beyond using time.h I am lost about how to go about doing what I want so I am asking for help here.

I know how to include library, but I do not know how to have the arduino pull the time from the computer or how to make the lcd I have connected to it display the time.

Any hints on how to go about this? Any information about this would be greatly appreciated.

MekkaViking: time.h I am lost about how to go about doing what I

I thought there was an example of how to do this included with the time library.

It is usually easier to use an on-board clock.

Since you have the USB cable connected, I guess the simplest solution could be to send the data back to the PC using PLX-DAQ. This is a freebie macro for Excel that effectively makes it into a terminal which collects a live data feed from Arduino and adds the PC time to it. No clock needed, no LCD needed either.

I probably should have added a bit more detail about the use of this build. The idea is to make it so that I can monitor cpu and ram usage as well as the currently time while in full screen mode of a program, such as a game or media player of some sort. That, and just the entertainment of building this of course. Im not so interested in logging as I am in active monitoring of this information, although adding this excel macro you mentioned does sound interesting and I may end adding that.