adjustable (Count Down or Up timer) to then reset to different Caseline

Hello

Big NOOB here, been working on my first project and I have found my self continuously looking online for help but this particular time I cant seem to find what I need or even know how to start it.

I have my 3 s electable Modes (with every Click) but what I want now is the activate a 5 to 30 Second Timer to CASE LINE 2 (Mode 2) once it has finished its timer I then want it to switch to a another mode automatically.

I do not want to use Delays… Delays give me no control (I want to be able to bypass the Timer ) if I was to click my manual button again.

any help (be nice) would be appreciated.

Thanks

#include <Event.h>
#include <Timer.h>

#include <Bounce2.h>
#define BUTTON_PIN_1 8

Timer t;
byte switchVal = 0;
byte prevSwitch = 0;
byte counter = 0;
const int BUTTON_PIN = 8; //Manual Button + Relay Driven RF Reciever
const byte LEDSTOP = 13;  //Mode Confirm (STATUS and CONFIRM that NO RELAYS ARE ACTIVE
const byte RELAYOPEN = 7;  //RELAY 1 = OPEN Gate
const byte RELAYCLOSE = 6;  //RELAY 2 = CLOSE Gate

Bounce debouncer = Bounce();  //debounce library installed for mechanical switches
//in the code

void setup()
{
  pinMode(BUTTON_PIN,INPUT_PULLUP);   //Internal Pullup used for pushbutton to switch between modes
  debouncer.attach(BUTTON_PIN); // Debounce Library (attatched for reading value for accruate response
  debouncer.interval(5); // used 5ms this was standard when i set it up and it seemed to work very well
  Serial.begin(9600); //used Serial to Diagnose what output is selected as quickly as possible, just incase I had interefence issues. 
  pinMode (BUTTON_PIN, INPUT_PULLUP);
  pinMode (LEDSTOP, OUTPUT );     //Gate Stop (NOT MOVING) Possition
  pinMode (RELAYOPEN, OUTPUT);    //Gate Openening Possition
  pinMode (RELAYCLOSE, OUTPUT);   //Gate Closing Possition
}

void loop()
{
 { // Update the Bounce instance :
  debouncer.update();

// Get the updated value :