Adjustable Timer

HI there, I'm pretty new to arduino,and electronics so if anyone could help me out,it would be greatly appreciated. I want to make an adjustable timer (15 to 30 minute) I would like the adjustment to be done with a potentiometer having all the way left =15 minutes all the way right = 30 minutes this timer would run 1 relay,.... push a button and the realy would go closed for desired time,and then open.And stay that way until you pushed the button again. My thoughts are to get it going with my arduino then build a circuit with an attiny chip. I dont know how to make the potentiometer adjust the time.I havent seen any sketches on the web for time adjustment.I think i could use part of another sketch for the button to turn it on. Can this be done? Also could anyone show me a sample sketch? Any info is welcome,if you can think of an easier way let me know! Thank you very much, Andy

Basically i want to set the timer for anywhere from 15 to 30 minutes hit the start button,and power the relay for the desired time after time elapses relay shuts off and waits untill i push the button again goes through the same thing and waits for me to hit the button again. I know i could probably buy a timer that would do this like a christmas light timer or somthing like it,but what fun is that? Thanks, AndyFinck

I am pretty new to Arduino myself but I suppose you could run the potentiometer as a voltage divider and read the voltage using one of the Analog ports. In theory you should be able to get a voltage from 0-5 volts by using the potentiometer as a voltage divider. Make sure you have a 10M resistor connected from the analog port you want to use to ground because at least with my board when I try to run a positive circuit and get down to 0 volts (aka no reading) my boards analogs loves to read some crazy numbers unless i hook a 10M resister on it so I get a true 0 volt ground when the potentiometer reaches 0 volts.