ADS1232 24-Bit ADC to Arduino UNO Trouble

I'm ultimately trying to read the ADS1232 with the Arduino for a scale project. The ADS1232 is a great chip to use for this application as it is basically designed for scales and other sensitive bridge applications that require a lot of increments for a good resolution in output.

I am a beginner in using SPI, so I am trying to follow an example to start. This one here seems to be the closest out there: sample code for LTC2440 24-bit ADC however, the output doesn't seem to make sense. I can tell there is some conditioning for the specific application, but when I apply low amounts of weight, the output will slightly decrease, then jump to increasing values and increase respectively to the amount of weight applied. I have iterated with adjusting various lines in the code to see if I can get a more linear result, but have yet to be successful.

The data sheet for the ADS1232 http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/sbas350f/sbas350f.pdf definitely divulges the requirements for proper operation such as clocking and so on, even a specific scale application example, but modeling my circuit after this and using the example code, I just can't seem to output a linear decimal result. I have a feeling the ADS isn't being clocked right, but I really don't understand or know how to ensure this. Page 19 in the datasheet discusses Data Retrieval.

Anyone have experience here that can help? I'm literally only trying to output a decimal answer from the ADS1232 to convert into a weight...

Thanks in advance!

To add, important wire connections between the Arduino and ADS1232 are as follows:

ADS DRDY/DOUT <----> Arduino Pin 12 (MISO)
ADS SCLK <-------------> Arduino Pin 13 (SCK)
ADS PDWN <------------> Arduino Pin 10 (SS)

These are the only 3 connections for SPI I can see on the ADS1232.

ManiN:
These are the only 3 connections for SPI I can see on the ADS1232.

Plus a ground, presumably.

Anyone have experience here that can help?