Advance window blind control pheasability/parts

So to start off I'm completely new to micro controllers/programming/electronics. I do have a Mechanical engineering degree and have done some work while in school with programming, and a few basic exercises with micro controllers but have since forgotten it all, will be a long process for me to re-learn everything to try this out.

What I'm hoping to accomplish is to have a controller open/close window blinds based on a set of criteria, the blinds are the basic horizontal slat type, and would connect the motor to the wand to control the tilt of the slats.

The criteria I would like to accomplish would utilize a light sensor, temperature sensor, and IR sensor. I haven't completely decided as I'm not sure what is possible/not too expensive to accomplish.

I would like to open/close the blinds to balance aesthetics and temperature: if the window is not in direct sunlight (cloudy or shadowed) blinds open if the window is in direct sunlight and the indoor temp is hot, close blinds, if cool, open blinds i would also like the option to override the temp control to open/close the blinds through an IR control by using say a TV remote as there is quite a bit of glare on the TV during some times of the day. At night (no light) I would like the blinds to close for privacy.

also there is the challenge of controlling the blind position, using timers to control the motors is generally very inaccurate so would likely need something like an encoder to track the position. I may also like to add a humidity sensor in order to perform a heat-index calculation to control the blinds based on heat index instead of just temperature.

is this achievable? also what components would people recommend using? I have found some simple examples of people doing similar things, primarily opening blinds during day and closing at night for privacy/plant growth.