Advice about parts for a beginner and his vehicle project

Hi,

I'm a beginner to Arduino. I have played with it a couple of years ago where I built a robot and a game for a project at work, but haven't touched it since.

I have been thinking about ordering some stuff, and are going to do it when I have the list of parts down.

What my goal is to built, is a robot that can move and be extended. I'm thinking via four wheels. I would like to be able to make it autonomous as well as remote controllable, so it would need vision of some sort too and some way to connect to, say, a phone, and then I would like to make it extendable from the start, to be able to later on add functionality to it.

I have looked on the website of a couple of local (to my country) dealers (I live in Denmark) and I have found a few things I think is the right way to start.

First off is a starter kit. The one I think I should order contains the following:

• 1 x Arduino UNO R3
  • 1 x USB cable
  • 40 x stright single row pinhead connectors 2.54
  • 1 x Breadboard
  • 75 x wire
  • 5 x 10k Ohm resistors 1/4W
  • 5 x 2.2K Ohm resistors 1/4 W
  • 10 x 220 Ohm resistors 1/4W
  • 5 x 330K Ohm resistors 1/4W
  • 5 x 100nF polyester capacitors
  • 5 x 10nF polyester capacitors
  • 3 x 100uF electrolyt capacitors 25Vdc
  • 1 x 4,7K Ohm Thermistor
  • 1 x 70-100K Ohm LDR photoresistor VT90N2
  • 3 x 5mm Red LED
  • 1 x 5mm Green LED
  • 1 x 5mm Yellow LED
  • 1 x 10kilohm Potentiometer
  • 2 x BC547B Transistor in TO92 housing
  • 1 x Piezo buzzer
  • 5 x PCB Pushbutton, 6x6mm
  • 2 x 4N35 Optocoupler in DIL-6 housing
  • 2 x Tilt sensor
  • 1 x Diodes 1N4007
  • 1 x MOS Irf520

Then I was thinking I should order an Arduino Proto Shield too. I don't know much about it other than from what I have read it makes it easier to prototype stuff.