Advice correct sensor(s) to detect person presence in a "relax" room

Hello,

our company has several relaxation rooms where folks can come and have a moment of peace. Unfortunately the same folks often forget to untag the room as occupied so much so that the local workforce has learned to ignore the red occupied sign completely.

Being an arduino beginner I realized that this situation may be solved by some form of arduino project.

My research however lead to much uncertainty which sensing method should be used.

The rooms are multipurpose - folks can exercise there on a mat, be sleeping on an armchair, or be changing their apparel inside a 3mx4m rooms. They may be in a complete dark, or very bright light...

I would like to ask for an expert advice on how to solve this problem as I do not think this is trivial case of IR or motion detector sensor. Folks can be standing, laying on teh floor, or be in the armshair, so I do not see a one sensor that would possibly reliably detect these cases. And false positives must be avoided at all cost.

If given tips of which sensor(s) to use, I think I can take it from there (at least by googling the right usages of the sensor(s) etc.). I just feel too inexperienced to properly weight the various sensor types against this usage case.

Any help, tips or nudge is highly appreciated.

Thanks!

Rather than ponder which sensors to purchase I would suggest looking at what parameters are available to measure first.
Consider a small room which may contain some or no furniture or fittings and that this may change over time.
This suggests to me that a differential measurement is required i.e. room without person as compared to room with person.
So, what changes occur when a person enters the room.
I see three measurable parameters.

1. Every human exhales CO2 as about 4-5% of total gas volume. This occurs regardless of whether the person is active or snoozing in a chair, so maybe a CO2 gas sensor