Advice for hydraulic master thesis.

Hello,

I’m a civil engineering student and I’ve always had a special interest for electronics, sensors, and arduinos.

I’m finishing my degree for which I have to develop a thesis. After some research and based on some articles, I proposed to my hydraulics Professor to monitor the solids transportation (at the bottom of a river) using a hydrophone.

This idea consists on measuring the intensity/quantity of sediments (like rocks and muds) passing through a certain spot. These measurements are made using a hydrophone put underneath a seel plate – when the sediments pass beneath this plate they create impulses or frequencies, which will then be analyzed. What I would like to know is the best way to capture these frequencies through the hydrophone – mobile recorder, daw, arduino? I intend to connect the hydrophone to the computer, either through the arduino or through a sound plaque, but I’m afraid these solutions are more prone to the appearance of noise.

The frequency range to analyze is between 10Hz and 30kHz.

Will it be a good solution to connect the hydrophone to the arduino?

Another issue in my mind is the handling of the data gathered – should I use excel, matlab or python?

Thanks, Carlos Esteves

Will it be a good solution to connect the hydrophone to the arduino?

I would suspect that an arduino would be a poor candidate for interfacing with a hydrophone for signal analysis. A micro with a faster and more resolution ADC and internal hardware DSP support capabilities is probably a better choice. At least that is my opinion.

Lefty