Advice/ help needed with simracing rig

Hello all, I'm quite new to the world of Arduino and could use some advice on how best to start out. I've recently been expanding my simracing rig with some custom peripherals and I decided to add a button box and rev counter/ HUD. I figured an Arduino system would be ideal for this, but I'm a little unsure what the best approach for this would be.

I've come across the following videos that I want to base my build on (linked below), but I can't seem to really find out if it would be better to use an Arduino Nano for the rev counter/ HUD and connect that to a larger board or to simply wire it all into a large board from the start.

Does anyone have any experience with a similar build or idea? I'm mainly looking for a model recommendation (or models) to start me off.

Have a look at the following two options:

The Arduino Nano Every is a powerful 8-bit Arduino at the lowest price of any original Arduino.

https://store.arduino.cc/arduino-nano-every

For a few bugs more you can also look into the Arduino Nano 33 IoT. It has a powerful 32-bit ARM Cortex-M processor and even WiFi and Bluetooth LE support. Just in case you want to display the data on a smartphone/tablet, send it to your PC or even the cloud. :slight_smile: Its easier than you think.

https://store.arduino.cc/arduino-nano-33-iot

Both board are cheaper than the classical Arduino’s because they use newer manufacturing processes for the chips.

Klaus_K:
Have a look at the following two options:

The Arduino Nano Every is a powerful 8-bit Arduino at the lowest price of any original Arduino.

Arduino Nano Every | Arduino Official Store

For a few bugs more you can also look into the Arduino Nano 33 IoT. It has a powerful 32-bit ARM Cortex-M processor and even WiFi and Bluetooth LE support. Just in case you want to display the data on a smartphone/tablet, send it to your PC or even the cloud. :slight_smile: Its easier than you think.