advice needed on re-mapping an automotive analog sensor

Hi everyone.

I am a total newbie in the Arduino field so I'm hoping to get some pointers from you experts.

Long story short, one of the sensors[airflow meter] of my car is about to die completely. An oem replacement is 250 euros[bosch] but i found a similar fit sensor [pierburg] for 100euros with different output curve. [both sensors use a 0-5V analog signal to talk to the ECU]

What I'm looking for is a way to modify the output of the ECU by piggybacking the output of the sensor, something like [sensor]------[arduino controller]------[ECU]. For example, let's say the OEM sensor has an output of 2.3 volts at a given quantity of air but the new sensor will only output 2 volts for same quantity which will mess the ECU up.

So, is it possible to build a circuit or use a existing board which will allow me to reprogram different load points like 0-255 or 0-1023 or something similar? Any good articles to start with cause I kept reading stuff for the last 2 days but it seems to be too much to digest all of a sudden.

Thanks for reading and hoping for some start ideas [meanwhile will keep reading]

Hi simontemplar,

First, welcome to Arduino!

From a software perspective, what you describe is pretty easy to do. I'm not much of an auto enthusiast, so I can't speak to how to connect to the sensors.

You'll need to know the transfer functions for each sensor. Do you have their curves?

Pat.