Advice needed

I want to design a project consisting of an LCD, keypad and 2 stepper motors. Its for a robotic panoramic camera head similar to a Gigapan which costs £700-900 :astonished: This is how I want it to work: LCD displays input option, I input a set of numbers which represents the angle of movement I want from the steppers and the number of times I want it repeated (with a time delay between each repeat). At the end of the cycle I want it to return to the start position and forget the numbers I have previously input.

Being a complete newbie with Arduino I can see how the hardware can fit together, what I need to know is where (and how) the arduino stores the inputs. Or do I need to know? I understand hardware better than programming......

here is the sequence as I see it: Input angle of stepper movement (this is same for both steppers) Input Delay (time for stepper to wait before moving again) Input number of repeats for stepper 1 Input number of repeats for stepper 2 Run Stepper 1 moves angle, pauses for Delay then moves again, repeats until it reaches max number of repeats inputted Steppper 2 moves 1 angle Stepper 1 then moves in opposite direction for max number of repeats Stepper 2 moves 1 angle Stepper 1 repeats etc until both steppers have reached their max repeats the steppers then return to the original position.

Any help or advice would be grateful, perhaps a share of knowledge if there is anyone else interested in building one of these....

Have you got any hardware in mind, I can point some out if you haven't.

Not really, Im new to the arduino but have a little experience in circuit building. I was thinking of using one of those cheap 2 row LCDs off Ebay with the buttons already on the board. I will also need a shield (or 2) which will control the steppers.