Advice on C / C++ programming

I am a newbie and just starting to learn. I am starting to learn C / C++ (and assembler as time permits) specifically to program / manipulate Atmel microcontrollers (ATMega328P, ATTiny13, etc).

Is the following statement true: My C / C++ code can be written in the Arduino IDE and compiled / uploaded to the Uno just as well as the Arduino language (assuming I don’t do anything in C / C++ the IDE can not handle).

Thank you in advance: if the answer is TRUE I will take what I learn in C / C++ and use in in the IDE.

In general it is true.

However the arduino has no concept of a console which is where the output of cout and printf() end up. you need to rewrite that code using serial.prints() to the PC.

Also, some data structures like linked lists don't work so well on arduino.

Thank you :slight_smile:

1. The language used by the Arduino IS C/C++

2. cout/cin sin's random numbers etc ........ are provided by lib's, you simply use the lib's which are appropriate to the target system. You can't use some lib's as the target system does not support them.

3. linked lists etc are fine on the Arduino. But you must keep a very close eye on memory usage. This is true on any system, bit more so on the Arduino's as they have very little memory.

4. Forget that assembler exists - it should NEVER be used for programming.

Mark

Mark:

Thanks for the advice.

I plan on learning assembler for the heck of it. I want to use the ATTiny13 once I figure how to to it all (I won’t be using the ATTiny13 with the Arduino IDE to kep life simple). I just want to learn assembler on a simple, small little chip. Who knows, maybe I will have a use for it.

(Also, some data structures like linked lists don't work so well on arduino.) =

(3. linked lists etc are fine on the Arduino. But you must keep a very close eye on memory usage. This is true on any system, bit more so on the Arduino's as they have very little memory.)