Advice on cockroach detector

Hi, can you point me to the skills and tools needed to build some kind of cockroach detector? I imagine some motion sensor put on the ground and an alarm that sounds depending on the size and speed of the moving thing, maybe that’s not even the best way to think about it. I’m a total newbie on arduido, but I have a science background. I’d appreciate any tips on how to start :slight_smile:

I'm a total newbie on arduido, but I have a science background. I'd appreciate any tips on how to start

You really need to be more specific under what particular conditions you want to detect a cockroach. Vague requirements result in vague solutions.

Simply napalm the area. Anything still living is a cockroach.

I have some phototransistors that include cockroach detection as an application listed in the datasheet. Unfortunately there are no details.

[quote author=Coding Badly link=msg=2015315 date=1419478719]
I have some phototransistors that include cockroach detection as an application listed in the datasheet. Unfortunately there are no details.
[/quote]I just googled and found This "THE EFFECTIVE IS WONDERFUL"

This machine can lure the cockroach, catch them, electric shock and baking them. the customer
will see the catch result directly.

Very nice, and I've heard that baked cockroaches are tasty.

I would be more interested in the laser version.

allanfelipe:
Hi, can you point me to the skills and tools needed to build some kind of cockroach detector? I imagine some motion sensor put on the ground and an alarm that sounds depending on the size and speed of the moving thing, maybe that's not even the best way to think about it. I'm a total newbie on arduido, but I have a science background. I'd appreciate any tips on how to start :slight_smile:

You could get a cheap laser and see of captured cockroaches make a unique detectable interference pattern then just sweep lines and watch for the interference.