Advice on hobbiest power supply

Hello,

I'm still quite new to electronics, but I'm getting into situations where sometimes 5v logic is convenient, other times 3.3v. Or I'm powering several motors and it would be nice if I needed to to just turn up the amps a bit on my power supply. It would be nice to have One Power Supply To Rule Them All. Am I wrong to want this?

For example, I'm looking at this guy:

It seems like it would be ideal. Kinda pricey though, so I thought it might be a good idea to consult with folks who know a lot more than I do :slight_smile: It'd be good to find a slightly more economical option, as well, but they seem to be tricky to search for, even...any input would be greatly appreciated!

Best,
lee

That is quite pricey, but I would trust the Sparkfun recommendation. Having an adjustable current limit may save you from some disasters. It would be great for building and testing robots with big motors.

A drawback is that it has only one output, and if you do much experimentation with analog circuits, you will often need 3 outputs (+/- 15V), 5V or 3.3V etc.

If price is a concern, you should start with computer power supplies. They'll have 12V, 5V, and 3V3.
The notion of 'turn up the amps' as you say, is quite indicative of a lack of understanding of a fundamental quality of electricity.
Start by looking up how current works, then look for some computer power supplies. Craigslist tends to have a bunch from people who have upgraded their packaged comps.

You mean I might need three different voltages at once? I had no idea! That's a great point to consider then. /me ponders.

You are absolutely right about my lack of understanding. I've been doing a lot of fundamental reading and video watching, and just when I think it's all starting to make sense, some new zinger comes along and I'm back to zero again.

I thought that's what you would do if you couldn't, say, turn all the motors you wanted at once, though?