Advice on my project

I am completely new to robotics and mechatronics. To try and get a grounding in the subjects, I am attempting to build a line following robot. I have an Arduino Uno board, LED's, an LDR, the programming (more or less, give or take a few numeric constants). My next stage is choosing what type of motor I'm going to use. Currently I'm stuck between servo motors and standard DC motors.

What would people recommend?

BTW in terms of motor shields, I was going to buy an Arduino one.

I used the 2 wheeled platform from Make.
It came with motors that seem fine for your project.
http://www.robotliving.com/building-robots/two-wheeled-robot-2/

If you use RC servos modified for continuous rotation then you won't need a motor shield.

If you use RC servos modified for continuous rotation

I'm building a similar simple robot right now. I'm using these servos that are already made to run in continuous-rotation mode and have an accessible trim pot to set the "neutral/stop" point: http://arduino-direct.com/sunshop/index.php?l=product_detail&p=130

These servos are strong! Click on "large image" to see the specs...

There are also less powerful servos for half the price.. http://arduino-direct.com/sunshop/index.php?l=product_list&c=10

I get these directly from the factory in China, and the workmanship is very good.

DISCLAIMER: Mentioned stuff from my own shop... But you can find these on Ebay and pololu.com in usa etc...

Thanks everyone for your input, especially Pauly because you link to the program really helped. The next bit of advice I would like is on my programming. With a bit of help from my father, I was able to create a program that makes my robot search for a line and follow it. Here’s the program:

#define LED 13 //pin connected to LED
#define LDR 14 //pin connected to LDR
#define BUTTON 9 //pin connected to BUTTON

#define DG_TURN90 99 //no. of milliseconds it takes for the robot to turn 90 degrees