Advice on prototype feasibility required: Connection of multiple sensors

Hi There,

First of all my background isn't in electronics so I apologise for any bad terminology, my only prior experience with arduino is tinkering with Ardupilot on a board with fully integrated sensors.

For a current project I need to rapidly prototype a device which translate the motion of an accelerometer to a key press on a keyboard. Essentially i'm trying to emulate a number-pad input with accelerometers (this input is then fed into a predictive text algorithm on a windows based PC).

For the PC to recognise the device as a keyboard, I understand a Arduino Leonado (or Due?) is best suited as they interface directly by USB allowing the plug and play compatibility currently required.

I'm looking at using a minimum of 10 single axis analogue accelerometers (with the likely candidates being Grove - Single Axis Analog Gyro's or ADXL193) to give an indication of +ve or -ve translation/rotation, I have no need for high quality 3-axis data for this proof of concept.

To manage so many analogue inputs I can't reply on the grove shield alone, so I have found the Mux Shield II which appears to be an integrated multiplexer which seems best suited for 10+ analogue sensors.

Does this arrangement of hardware seem broadly compatible? Or have I seemingly bitten off more than I can chew with this concept?

Thanks!

The Arduino Leonardo uses the same chip as the Arduino Micro but the Micro has a different physical shape with more analog pins. Still not enough analog for what you want. A Due or a Teensy will also do the USB-keyboard emulation but they also don't quite have enough analog pins for what you want.

But, why not use two? You can have two USB keyboards (or Arduinos) plugged in at the same time, sending different keys. Two Micros would be my recommendation.