Advice on selling

Hi all,

I’ve been an Arduino user for many years but only recently signed up to this forum. I have a degree in electronics, a doctorate in computer science and worked as a university lecturer in electronics and computing for 30 years until I retired recently.

I have a few educational projects which I sell. I’ve worked a lot with Arduino/ESP8266 in the last few years and developed a board which I think is worthy of sharing. See here.
It has a few gaps here & there but this has become my first choice of board for development work.

I’m a little nervous of plugging my own wares as ‘advice’ & not entirely sure of the protocol here. I’d appreciate some advice.

This isn’t a money making enterprise. Covering my costs is an ambition!! :wink:

Cheers

Ian

put it on one of the crowd funding sites. with that, you can get lots of people to look at it and possibly fund the full manufacturing of high quantities.

make a youtube on different projects you can do. one project, one video

go to the home page of this site, see projects others have done. make one (many?) in the same general fashion as to what is there.

open source the schematic with parts list so others and make at home. not sure what the ratio of people making their own vs. paying the low cost for a fully made board.

Maybe you could sell on Tindie: https://www.tindie.com/about/sell/

I have been working on a single Arduino project for over a year - starting from absolute zero.

I can offer no real suggestions, but I can tell you that some of the problems I've encountered have had surprisingly odd solutions. The error messages from the IDE are often nor helpful, and once you get to realize this it is easier to find bugs.
My most recent encounter was a seemingly intractable problem. I finally found a comment that someone else with the same problem solved it with a complete erase of his board (which used the 8266).