Advice- Project for my solar

Hey guys. I'm new to Arduino. In fact, I'm so new my Arduino kit wont even be here for 3 more days. I'm spending time learning a bit about codes, hardware etc. for a project I would like to make for my solar.

If this is like any other forum, before I get flamed and told study, practice, learn etc, let me start by saying I fully plan on learning as much as possible over the long run. I'll start with the hello world blinking light sketch and work my way along.

My first big project (which may not seem big to you) will be to create a circuit that will sense my solar batteries and run a 500 watt grid tie inverter.

Basically, I want it to turn on my inverter when my batteries are charged within a certain voltage, and turn off the inverter when the batteries get too low. (similar to a diverter on bigger charge controllers).

I've started looking into how to run a 30 amp relay on the Arduino which seems fairly simple.

Could someone direct me on an idea of how to map this out? I wont need any LCD readings yet. as I get more familiar with Arduino and the programming, my ultimate goal is to have a fully automated solar system that sends data to a dedicated server for viewing outputs.

But for now, I just want to figure out how to use Arduino to turn on and off my inverter based on battery voltage.

Any help will be appreciated.

Keith

Keith,

I know lots of Arduino folks are working on solar. Roger Clark, stm32duino.com, in Australia has designed units in Australia and England. Roger is slso on this forum, but I an unaware of how often he checks in.

A search of this forum may get a number of hits, too.

Welcome to the forum!

Ray

Grid tie inverters are not toys and a rather decent understanding of how to connect and operate them safely is absolutely required.

In the U.S., electrical utilities REQUIRE inverters to be installed and connected to the line by a licensed technician, and to be inspected by the utility for safety before operation.