Advice/solutions needed for detection of moving units on board game

Hi,

I'm new to Arduino and electronics in general. I'm playing a board game and I have this crazy idea that it would be cool if the units actually made sounds when they were moved from point A to B.

The actual unit are attached to a base that are 40mm x 40mm in size but have a very low profile. It's not a problem to elevate the base so I'm thinking the entire solution should fit within the confined space under the base.

So far I've "envisioned" the following options:

1. A sensor (which is the question) that will detect when the unit is moved, a (micro controller or ?) which will interface with the sensor, a speaker which will play the actual sound and a battery which will power everything. These devices will have to fit whitin the 40mm x 40mm confined space and as small as possible in height.

My reservations with this solution is the speaker which would be very small and therefore the sound quality would be very poor.

1. I've found a very small wifi board with Arduino functionality (SparkCore, www.spark.io) which will fit (just) within the confined space. A sensor which will detect the movement and a battery which will power both. The actual sound will be played from a PC with proper speakers for optimal sound quality as the SparkCore will interface with the PC via wifi.

My reservations with this solution is the SparkCore. It's 39$ so each unit would be very expensive.

My imagination ends here :). Any advice, ideas or solutions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you and have a nice day.
Carsten

How about putting a switch under the base of each unit which is open when the unit is placed, and closes when it is lifted. You could use that to turn on a cheap synthesizer or play a recorded sound using those cheap 'greetings card' recording chips.

PeterH: