Advice working with solenoids

hallo there, i'm totally new to the arduino environment, and I need advice on a piece which i want to incorporate the arduino. I am going to work with solenoids and after reading whatever i can find about solenoids, i'm ready to take up the challenage. I will be getting parts as in http://www.arduino.cc/playground/uploads/Learning/solenoid_driver.pdf . I would like to work with a maximal of 16 solenoids and i am using a ATmega 8 board. I see 0-13 /14 digital ports. Can i hook up all 16 solenoids to this board? Is there other ways of doing this?

Basically i want a solenoid to be attach to a 140 cm long shaft to strike at the end. I know that this is rather long and i need advice on the impact the solenoide needs. What i choose is a 12v at 1.5W with power of 3N. Is this strong enough?

You can not hook 16 the solenoids directly op to the Arduino boards.

I think that two 595 shift registers (check the playground for how to) will give you the 16 outputs you need. But the shift registers can't handle the current the solenoids require, so you need to hook the up with a large transistor or something similar. Something like a TIP120, but check the current need of your solenoids first.

You should find the datasheet for the solenoids you ar planning to use, to get all the data like how much current they draw, what voltage the need, and their duty cycle (how long can they be on before the need to be off to cool down).

One very important thing you should consider is the powersupply. You can under no circumstances power the solenoids from the Arduino board, and depending on how many of the solenoids will be on at the same time, you might need a powersupply with a very high current rating.

I'm afraid i can't answer the question about the force of the solenoids.

ok, i'll get back with the specifications.

thanks

Greetings,