adxl code

I am new to both coding and arduino lessons so i needed a help in the code.

The aim is to take the readings from ADXL335 and after caliberating compare the simultaneous values. according to the tutorials and data from forums i wrote a code but their are still some issues. please guide me.

float zpin = A3;

float zeroz = 367.5;

float scalez =.330;

int greenled = 13;
int redled2 =8;
int redled1 = 9;
int redled3 =10;

int c=0;
int prev;

void setup() {

Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode (zpin, INPUT);// put your setup code here, to run once:
pinMode (redled2, OUTPUT);
pinMode (redled1, OUTPUT);
pinMode (redled3, OUTPUT);
pinMode (greenled, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
prev=c;
float z = analogRead(zpin);

c =Serial.print ((z - (zeroz)) / (scalez));
float deltag=c-prev;
Serial.print(“previous”);
Serial.print(prev);
Serial.print(“difference”);
Serial.print(deltag);
Serial.print ("\n");
delay(1000);

}
this is my code
the output comes in this manner as shown in the attachment. i have neglected the space. i just wanted to know why my variable “prev” is not taking the new value of “c”.

Pin numbers should not be floats.

The value returned by a Serial.print() is the number of bytes printed, probably not what you wanted.

Steve

when i mentioned pin number in integer it only gave a whole number since i also wanted decimal so i used float. i also have tried with int but float works better.
but can u please help me with the reason why its not giving a proper difference and why is it not taking the previous values?

Pin numbers are integers. So "float zpin = A3" makes no sense. Also the result of an analogRead() is an integer (0-1023) so assigning that to a float z makes no sense.

You don't explain what the meaning of c and prev are supposed be so I can't really follow your code.

Can you explain what you think that line is doing? Again it makes no real sense.

Perhaps try assigning the value of the calculation to c first and then, in a separate command, printing it.